The Time Comes

There is always something in your life that is the deciding moment of when you have had enough of not being able to do much.  Mine came when out Turkey hunting this past spring with my father.  The hunt itself is another story for another blog, but what happened on the way out was my wake-up call.  Now my father is not old by any means, at 67 years young he keeps plenty busy with all sorts of outdoor adventures.  On our way out to setup one morning, I had to ask him to stop, so I could catch my breath.  How crazy is that, I had to stop to catch my breath, as my dad sat there and laughed a little, jesting that it is not as easy as it looks. I realized right then and there that I had to do something.  When I got home, I told my wife about it, and we started researching gyms. We joined Planet Fitness shortly after, Price was right, and it was 2 miles from the house, open 24×7 M-F(10pm) S&S 7-7.. can’t beat that. We started working out together and our 14 year old was our motivation to get out the door, as she wanted to work out also. We met with the personal trainer about 2 weeks later, and learned that we were doing things the right way (love all the other blogs out there for their information on working out). So we started exercising and eating better (I’d say right, but it is a life style change, not a diet, and I do eat what I want, I just control portions better). I Started running around June 2012, and really fell back in love with it. Set my sights on a 5K Turkey trot, and was able to complete that in better time than I had anticipated. I even trained for it throughout the summer, while on was on vacation. Two weeks of either Running or Bike riding. Plus some paddling on the lake. Things are going much better, and I’m starting to train for a 10K this year.

Footprints in the Sands of Time are Not Made by Sitting Down!

Leave a Reply

