Months out

Continuing with short recap to catch me up to 2012….

I struggled with trying to stay up late, and if woken up in the middle of the night, I would not be able to function the next day. I had spent 12 years as a Volunteer EMT and tried returning to that, but being woken up and having to call into work the next day was not working out.  I had to resign from the Rescue Squad. That was a very tough time.

My youngest daughter was in Karate, Tang-Soo-Do, so my wife and I joined.  The instructor worked with me very closely, knowing what I had been through. Within a year, my wife and I were testing for our red belts. The test included an all nighter, practicing and testing, morning 1 mile jog/walk, more testing… etc…. I made it through, first night actually staying up over 24 hours. From that point forward I was able to handle late nights better.

I struggle with my weight over the years peaking at 294 pounds, when I saw that on the scale, I couldn’t take it, and dropped 8 pounds that week. My eating was taking over.. 286 seemed to be my balance weight.  In January 2010, my wife and I tried WW… She joined online and I supported her by doing it with her. I was able to lose 25 pounds. I was also walking with a friend at work, and when I was working at home, about 15-20 miles per week. Then I got off of that diet and gained back to 281.

And so starts the journey from January 2012…….

 

Footprints in the Sands of Time are not Made by Sitting Down!

Leave a Reply

